Mocha Oats and Syncope

Well, this morning was quite the adventure! What’s the first thing you do when you get up in the morning? I know we’re supposed to reach for our dream journals, our planners, not our smart phones… but honestly, I know what I do.

So I’m laid in bed ignoring my alarms, texting my friends. Next thing I know, I’m flat on my face in the hallway! My ears are ringing, my vision is gone, my chin was smashed, and I was very nauseous. Somehow, without my conscious know-how, I’d gotten up, put my phone away, open and shut my door (which is a little crooked and hard to do at the moment), and begun to walk the length of the hallway before collapsing.

IMG_20160731_073016288_HDR

As we’re well aware my favourite way to start the day is oats. They’re hearty, filling, tasty, and have endless options. Today I didn’t have enough oomph to make these 10 minute caffeinated oats, but currently they’re my favourite! Note: I TJ’s super seed oatmeal instead.

Mocha Oats
Type: Breakfast
Serves: 1
Prep Time: –     Cook Time: 10-15 minutes

Ingredients:
1/2c GF oats
1 1/2c water
1tsp espresso powder
1/2-1tbsp cocoa powder
sweetener of choice*

Directions:
1) Place oats and water in a small pot on the stove. I like my power boil setting, if available. Once boiling on the edges add espresso powder and reduce to medium-low and simmer for 10 minutes or until desired consistency. About 2 minutes before you remove from heat add cocoa powder. It will seem watery when you first remove from the heat, but it thickens significantly while it cools! Add sweetener after removing from heat, unless banana, then add halfway through cooking time.

*Sweeteners: I use a banana often, add half way through cooking. Great for muscle repair and potassium! When I don’t want a banana, I often will use 1-2 stevia packets. Since it’s plain cocoa and espresso powder though, it is very bitter without a sweetner, so I highly recommend one.

Author: thegirlyouloathe

Hello! My name is Rose. I am 18 and live at university in CA, USA. I am studying electrical engineering. I live with my kitty Butternut who is a registered emotional support animal.

Leave a Reply

