Chocolate Peanut Putter Oatmeal

I have always loved oatmeal for breakfast. Only when I was younger, it took either of two forms. A) Dino oatmeal. or B) Brown sugar with a side of oats. While both of these options are delicious, neither of them would fit my lifestyle now or fuel me through a day of dance and academics. So something needed to change! I needed delicious oats back in my day-to-day life.

Thus I stumbled upon overnight oats via Angela Liddon and OhSheGlows. But, these oats were cold and where I am it doesn’t get hot until after the sun comes up. And I get up far before then whether I want to or not. So, back to the drawing board. Iย still wanted delicious oatmeal. So I began my own experimentation.

This oatmeal is the perfect start to any day. As an athlete, I love it because it has protein and potassium for muscle repair. As a choc-o-holic and peanut butter addict I love it because it’s overflowing with aforementioned flavours. And then oh, sweet sweet banana coins and cocoa nibs for a delicious dark chocolate crunch? I’m in heaven, every. single. morning.

Serves: 1

Time: Soak overnight + 5 minutes in the morning

Ingredients:
– 1/2c Rolled Oats
– 1/2tbsp Chia Seeds
– 1c Water
– 1/2c Almond Milk, original, unsweetened
– 2tbsp Peanut flour*Espresso Chocolate Oatmeal

– 1tbsp Cocoa powder
– 1 Very ripe banana, sliced into coins
– 1tbsp Cocoa beans or chocolate chips
– PB syrup: 1tbsp PB flour and 1 scant tbsp water

Directions:

  1. Soak overnight the first three ingredients.
  2. In the morning: Combine soaked oats, peanut flour, cocoa powder, and almond milk in ย small sauce pan over medium-high heat and stir well.
  3. Once it begins to bubble and thicken, reduce heat to medium-low and add banana coins.
  4. Meanwhile, prepare the PB syrup by combining PB flour and water in the 1/2 cup measuring cup you used for the almond milk (less dishes!), stir well. Add more liquid until desired consistency.
  5. When the oatmeal reaches thick, and it gets delightfully thick and gooey, remove from heat and pour into bowl. Top with PB drizzle and cocoa beans or chocolate chips and any other additional toppings. Serve immediately.

*I use peanut flour as a thickening agent. Feel free to substitute with other thickeners, PB2, etc. Or use regular nut butter and see how that works!

 

Author: thegirlyouloathe

Hello! My name is Rose. I am 18 and live at university in CA, USA. I am studying electrical engineering. I live with my kitty Butternut who is a registered emotional support animal.

Leave a Reply

